I have Winchesters on my couch!

A while back, well, probably more like a year or so ago, I was chatting with some friends on facebook and we lamented the fact that there were no Sam and Dean dolls around. We all agreed we’d buy one if they were available, but, of course, they aren’t. From that point on, I always intended to make my own, but never got around to it. Until I ended up with three weeks in which there was precisely nothing I absolutely had to do. So, this is the result.

8_2304x1728

The pattern was one I’ve had for years – it was originally a clown doll, and somewhere along the way I lost the pattern for the clothes, so the outfits are made right from scratch. The dolls are completely hand stitched, but I did use a sewing machine for the clothes. I added some length to the pattern for Sam’s legs, because as we know, he’s a giraffe.

1_2304x1728

2_2304x1728

                                                                                                              It wasn’t difficult to decide how to dress them – Sam and Dean have pretty basic requirements when it comes to wardrobe choices. I ended up making two shirts for Sam, not because I want to be able to change his clothes (as someone not too far from me suggested), but even though I love the first one, the color was a bit too bright alongside the white tshirt and the pale peach flesh fabric. The darker color of the stripe works much better, but I’m a little sad, as the checked shirt actually turned out better.

4_2304x1728

5_2304x1728

                         

                                                                The faces were a huge problem. I tried to give Sam a bitchface, and Dean a quirky eyebrow (you know the one I mean) but alas that was way easier thought than done. In the end I went with a generic, non-expression.

The eyes were a nightmare. I sifted through hundreds of pics on google images but nothing was quite what I was looking for. Again, I ended up designing and embroidering my own.

6_2304x1728

The single most difficult part of the whole project was Dean friggin’ Winchester’s hair. I could have ordered a doll wig online, on the off chance that it was the right size and color, and I would still have had to cut it correctly. (I live in a pitifully small town in the back of beyond where you can’t just go and buy something. Ok that’s a slight exaggeration but only just.) The local Bernina store actually had yarn in colors that are darn near perfect for both Sam and Dean, which amazed and delighted me (I’m very excitable). The scariest thing was actually making a start on Dean’s hair. Everyone knows how he wears it, but let me tell you here and now, it is not easy to recreate with yarn. It took me approximately 7 hours all up, to get his hair right, (that was after having a practice run at it the day before with some random blue yarn – just to be sure I was on the right track.) Let me say right now that I’m delighted with the way it turned out. Sam’s hair, while easier to come up with the basic wig, was very difficult to cut and style, because let’s face it, Sam’s hair has no style. It’s shiny, and pretty, and long, but it just seems to hang there. Creating that out of yarn should be a piece of cake, right? No. But I think I’ve done a pretty good job.

7_2304x1728

So, here we are. I have invested the best part of three entire weeks of my life in this project. Why? I hear you asking. The answer to that is not complicated. I’m obsessed. Supernatural has taken over my life. I love to watch the show, talk about the show, and read about the show. (except for spoilers and whining – I don’t do either of those things any more, and my enjoyment of the show has increased exponentially). I’m hoping to take Sam and Dean to VanCon in August because I’m actually very proud of my project. 

Categories: My projects, Supernatural, Uncategorized, Winchester | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I have Winchesters on my couch!

  1. Airbat

    Can’t tell you how much I love those two dolls! You’ve done an amazing job, Jilly.

  2. Now you gotta make jackets!! LOL

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

