Sam & Dean’s Adventures in Vancouver: 2014 Edition. Part 3/4

The Monday following VanCon was a very special day day for two reasons:

1. Towards the end of June we backed a Kickstarter project, to fly a banner over the Supernatural studio and Greater Vancouver area, to celebrate the filming of the 200th episode. The timing was perfect for those of us staying on after VanCon. Our group drove out to the studio to watch the plane fly over.

DPP_0011_2136x1424_1068x712

 

DPP_0017-1_1424x2136_712x1068We saw many of the staff come out of the building to take photos of the flyover, and Adam Williams (from the VFX team) came over to ask if we’d got any good photos. Mine weren’t great, but as you can see, at least I got a record of the occasion. A few weeks later, the organizer posted a video of the flyover:

I feel very proud to have been a part of this awesome project. It brought tears to my eyes to see that banner flying over “our” studio. Thank you to the organizers for making it happen. Here’s the video thanking those of us who backed the project:

Many people involved with the show posted tweets about the banner, so I think it was well worth doing.


2. The second reason the Monday after VanCon was so special was the VFX event at Storm Crow Tavern. Here’s how Storm Crow describe themselves:

“The Storm Crow Tavern is Planet Hollywood for geeks,  a sports bar for nerds: a place where gamers, sci-fi and fantasy fans can hang out, drink a tasty microbrew and nosh on tasty edibles in Vancouver’s eclectic Commercial Drive neighbourhood.”

DPP_0013_2136x1424_1068x712

And here’s a link if you want to know more: Storm Crow Tavern

If you go to Vancouver this place is a must! But get there early because it’s a tiny little place that just oozes awesome, and it’s incredibly popular.

The VFX event was so popular this year they had to have two “sittings”, which both sold out in a matter of hours. (The proceeds from the tiny ticket fee went towards upkeep of the SuperWiki I believe). We opted for the later time slot. I didn’t take photos as the place is lit for ambiance, not photography, and I know a lot of people find flashes annoying.

This is the second year the VFX event (or “non-con” – which sounds SO wrong) has taken place, and the guys do it in their own time, as a way of interacting with the fans. They put together a reel of the most amazing work they do – some of which the average viewer would not even realize had anything done to it.

Afterward they answered a lot of well thought out, intelligent questions.

Theo Devaney (Crowley’s son Gavin from King Of the Damned) was an unexpected bonus. He spent hours chatting with fans. A truly wonderful man, and I hope we get to see him in Supernatural again soon.

The highlight of the entire evening for me personally, was meeting Mark Meloche (VFX Supervisor) who wasn’t at last year’s event. He was so nice and absolutely loved my Sam & Dean dolls. He told me I was an artist. I have to admit I almost cried. I put so much love into making those dolls. Anyway, I had unexpectedly re-acquired (long story) a set of the dolls and was able to gift them to Mark. He was very touched, (as was I, that he would even want them). I still squee over that every time I think of it.

 The next day I tweeted what had happened and Mark responded. Such an awesome man!

I’m SO proud.

Part 4 coming soon…

Part 1

Part 2

 

Categories: Supernatural, Vancouver, Winchester | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

